10 Questions With B. A. Paris 

Good evening folks, I’m delighted to welcome psychological thriller author B. A. Paris to my blog. Here, she chats about growing up in France, her first draft of Behind Closed Doors and her favourite authors. 

1) As a child, did you have a favourite author and do you have a favourite author now? 

As a child I loved Enid Blyton and Agatha Christie. I don’t have a favorite author now, I have too many to choose just one! 

2) When did you start writing? Did you enjoy English in school? 

I started writing 8 years ago and yes, English was my favorite subject in school. 

3) Where did the inspiration from Behind Closed Doors come from? What was the first draft like? 

Some years ago, I had a friend whose husband seemed very controlling and I thought it would make a good story. I didn’t expect it to come out as dark as it did though! 

The first draft wasn’t that different from the final one. Nothing much changed in the story.

4) What was it like growing up in France? 

I grew up in England and only moved to France when I was 21. I loved it so much I stayed there over 30 years. 

5) Do you have an agent, if so, is it nerve wracking, knowing that you now have someone to impress but also someone who will champion you and your writing?

I have the best agent in the world and never feel under pressure from her. That said, I always hope to impress her!

6) When you were an aspiring author, what was the best piece of advice you were given? 

Nobody knew I was writing so I didn’t really get any advice, except from myself, which was to never give up!

7) How do you work best – music or silence? 

I prefer to work in silence but I can also work with a lot of noise going on around me. If I need inspiration I’ll put on a Muse album. 

8) What was the last book you read? 

The last book I read was « East Of Hounslow » by Khurrum Rahman. 

9) Did you enjoy it? 

I can definitely recommend it! 

10) What was your first ever book about?

My first ever book was a psychological drama about a dysfunctional family. 

Thanks for your time, B. A. Paris. 

Leave a Reply

